

embargoed press release until April 22 2023

Ronald McDonald House Charities® Newfoundland and Labrador Appoints new Board Chair and Members

(April 22, 2023 St. John's, NL) – Ronald McDonald House Charities® Newfoundland and Labrador (RMHC NL) is pleased to announce the appointment of Angie Brown as Board Chair and Brian White, Hilary Wicks Morrow, Dr. Lisa Goodyear and Tony Dawe as its newest appointed members of the RMHC NL Board of Directors.

Angie Brown is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA) and a Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) with 14 years of experience as a public practitioner at Grant Thornton. Angie has been the Treasurer and chair of the Finance Committee for Ronald McDonald House Charities Newfoundland and Labrador since 2019. Angie provides a wealth of knowledge and experience to lead the Board of Directors to advance its mission.

Brian White, Director, Communications and External Affairs with Iron Ore Company of Canada

Brian White was appointed Director, Communications and External Affairs at IOC in September 2022. Brian first joined IOC in 2020 as chief of staff in the office of the President and Chief Executive Officer where he had indepth exposure to IOC's operations while providing strategic and managerial support to the IOC Senior Leadership Team. Prior to joining IOC, Brian worked in Corporate Relations covering projects across Rio Tinto's entire global portfolio of assets building his experience in public relations, communications and stakeholder engagement in operating environments as diverse as Mongolia, South Africa, and Serbia. Brian provides a wealth of knowledge and experience to help guide Ronald McDonald House to advance the mission.

Dr. Lisa Goodyear, Pediatric oncologist, Janeway Children's Hospital

Dr. Goodyear is currently pediatric oncologist at the Janeway Children's Hospital in St. John's, NL. Dr. Goodyear brings a unique perspective to the board of directors, working directly with many of the critically ill children and their families that Ronald McDonald House supports. Dr. Goodyear has often expressed that no pediatric hospital should function without a Ronald McDonald House program.

Hilary Wicks Morrow, partner, Roebothan McKay Marshall

Hilary Wicks Morrow is a partner at the law firm of Roebothan McKay Marshall. She received her Bachelor of Arts and Master of Business Administration from Memorial University and her Juris Doctor from Dalhousie University. Hilary currently serves as the Vice- Chair of the Provincial Information and Library Resources Board and Vice-Chancellor of the Anglican Diocese of Eastern Newfoundland and Labrador. Hilary is following in her father's footsteps not only has a lawyer, but a proud addition to RMHC NL Board of Directors. Brad Wicks was founding board member of RMHC NL.

Tony Dawe, FCAE, FEC, FCSSE, P. Eng., president of Phoenix Engineering Inc.

Tony has over 40 years experience in mechanical, energy management and renewable energy, project engineering and project management. He is currently President of Phoenix Engineering, a Board member with the Canadian Academy of Engineering and a past president of Engineers Canada and PEGNL. Tony is also a member of the RMHC NL Facilities Committee and took a lead role in the recent upgrades of the HVAC system to significantly reduce energy consumption and costs.

RMHC NL also recognizes the contributions of outgoing board members, Theresa Rahal, Blair Rogers K.C., Dr Lynette Bowes, Heather Peters, and Gary Follett. Their combined commitment to sick children and their families, along with relationships they have fostered with donors and partners, will help ensure RMHC NL continue to keep families of sick children close to each other and the medial care and resources they need.

RMHC NL Board of Directors is comprised of leaders in the fields of business, finance, law, medicine, human resources, communications, engineering and facilities management.

RMHC NL Board of Directors 2023:

- Angie Brown, Board Chair
- Penny McDonald, Director
- Erin Higdon, Director
- Hilary Wicks Morrow., Director
- Dr. Lisa Goodyear, Director
- Brian White, Director
- Tony Dawe, Director
- Gail Collins, Director

"I'm just continually in awe of all the great things we accomplish together here at Ronald McDonald House. I'm grateful for everyone involved with this charity and honoured to be able to continue to give back to our communities during this time. As I continue my volunteer journey with this charity as the incoming Board Chair, I still find myself moved by the heart-warming stories from families who have stayed at the house." Angie Brown, incoming Board Chair, RMHC NL.

While each Ronald McDonald House shares a common mission, each house is independently governed by a Board of Directors with its own charitable registration number. Since opening ten years ago in 2012, Ronald McDonald House Charities® Newfoundland and Labrador have accommodated more than 1700 families dealing with their child's illness far from home. It is estimated that RMHC NL saved these families more than \$9.1M.

Ronald McDonald House Charities® Newfoundland and Labrador helps keep families with a sick or injured child close to each other and the care and resources they need, when they need it most. Open 24 hours a day/7 days a week, Ronald McDonald House features many common areas including a large kitchen, family room, television room, resource center, home office, children's play areas and laundry facilities. Ronald McDonald House is open to parents, siblings and at times, extended family members of children receiving medical treatment in St. John's. It draws on a large pool of committed volunteers who help families feel at home.

www.RMHCNL.ca

www.facebook.com/rmhnl

Instagram @rmhc_nl

-30-

Media Contact:



Christina Morgan, CFRE Director, Development and Communications

Ronald McDonald House Charities® Newfoundland and Labrador 709 738-0000x0 Cell # 709 725-3145 christinamorgan@rmhcnl.ca

Charitable Registration Number: 85050 2865 RR 0001

www.RMHCNL.ca

Newly appointed Board Chair



Angie Brown, CPA, CA, CIA

Newly Appointed Board Members



Brian White



Hilary Wicks Morrow



Tony Dawe, P.Eng



Dr. Lisa Goodyear

Outgoing Board Members



Theresa Rahal



Blair Rogers, K.C.



Dr. Lynette Bowes



Gary Follett



Heather Peters